About Kew

Kew is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 6 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its local government area is the City of Boroondara. At the 2011 Census, Kew had a population of 23,876.

Formerly a city in its own right, the cities of Kew, Hawthorn and Camberwell were amalgamated in 1994 to form the City of Boroondara. The suburb borders the Yarra River to the west and north, with Hawthorn to its south and Balwyn to its east.

Kew District is a residential electorate, and features several parks and recreational reserves, including Studley Park on the Yarra River.

Former Members for Kew:

Sir Wilfrid Selwyn Kent Hughes (1927 - 1949)
Sir Arthur Rylah (1949 - 1971)
Sir Rupert James Hamer (1971 - 1981)
Prudence Anne Sibree (1981 - 1988)
Jan Louise Murray Wade (1988 - 1999)
Hon. Andrew John McIntosh (1999 - 2014)
Tim Smith (2014 - present)

Download Map